Thirty-three Seniors Earn National Merit, National Hispanic Honors

The Comal Independent School District is proud to honor a record-number 33 students this year who have earned National Merit and National Hispanic scholar honors. These individuals are among the nation’s top academic performers and will be recognized during the district’s regularly scheduled school board meeting Tuesday, Oct. 29.

Among the 33 are 17 National Merit Commended students and a record-tying 16 who earned a distinction in the National Hispanic Recognition Program.

Approximately 1.6 million high school students enter the National Merit Scholarship Program every year by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT), usually as juniors. Only 50,000 students qualify for recognition in the National Merit Scholarship Program.

National Merit Commended students are among the top 5 percent of academic scholars in the nation. This year’s commended students for Comal ISD include Aaron Torres and Christopher Williams from Canyon High; Madeline Torres and Tristan Rodgers from Canyon Lake High; Kyle Kistner from Memorial Early College High; and Jordan Auld, Madeline Aguilar, Randall Carver, Alastair Craythorne, Mayle Lester, James Mendez, Audrey Pauletti, Alyssa Wagner, Rachel Waltman, Magdelene Webb, Colby Wright and William Yancosek from Smithson Valley High.

The National Hispanic Recognition Program also uses a student’s junior year PSAT/NMSQT as the qualifying test. Students who are least one-quarter Hispanic/Latino may qualify. Students may be recognized for both programs.

This year’s Comal ISD National Hispanic scholars include Katelyn Robinson, Aaron Torres, Madison Villegas and Christopher Williams from CHS; Amanda Diaz from CLHS; Alexis Campos and Mariluz Gonzalez from MECHS; and Madeline Aguilar, Coleton Amaya, Ashlyn Benavides, London Floyd, Tandy Folsom, Catherine Haegelin, Mayle Lester, James Mendez and Tristan Taber from SVHS.



-Pictured from left are National Merit and National Hispanic honorees from Canyon High,  Christopher Williams, Aaron Torres, Madison Villegas and Katelyn Robinson.

-Pictured from left are National Merit and National Hispanic honorees from Canyon Lake High, Amanda Diaz, Tristan Rodgers and Madeline Torres.

-Pictured from left are National Merit and National Hispanic honorees from Memorial Early College High, Kyle Kistner, Mariluz Gonzalez and Alexis Campos.

-National Merit Commended students from Smithson Valley High are pictured here. Front row left to right: Magdalene Webb, Audrey Pauletti, James Mendez, Mayle Lester, Jordan Auld, Rachel Waltman and Madeline Aguilar. Back row (L to R) Alyssa Wagner, Colby Wright, Randall Carver, Alastair Craythorne William Yancosek.

-National Merit Hispanic Recognition scholars from SVHS are pictured here. Front row left to right: Tandy Folsom, Ashlyn Benavides, James Mendez, Madeline Aguilar and Catherine Haegelin. Back row left to right: London Floyd, Coleton Amaya, Tristan Taber and Mayle Lester.



Read more CISD news here.