Comal ISD Council of PTAs Celebrates Membership Awards

The Comal ISD Council of PTAs wrapped up the year with its final Council luncheon at the District office April 23. Highlights from the meeting and luncheon include a record number of membership awards and the election of the Council’s 2019-2020 officers.

With a total of 10,224 members across the Comal Independent School District, the year ends with a District-wide membership increase of 25 percent over last year. Campuses received membership awards through the PTA as well. This year, 28 campuses received the Golden Apple Award, which means that 100 percent of the campus’ faculty joined the local PTA; 20 campuses received a three-year high award, which means they each had an increase in members for three years in a row; 14 campuses received student membership awards; and 15 campuses received the MARS (Men Are Really Super) award for recruiting at least 50 men.

Additionally, two campuses earned Texas PTA’s most prestigious membership award for local PTAs, the platinum One Voice for Every Child Award, which means they recruited the same number of members as students enrolled on the campus. Both Rahe Bulverde Elementary and Indian Springs Elementary earned this coveted award.

This is Indian Springs’ third year in a row to attain this award, and Rahe Bulverde’s second year.

The newly elected officers for the 2019-2020 include President Shirley Koop, First Vice President Melissa Howell, Second Vice President Tracey Molina, Secretary Michelle Chung and Treasurer Ashley Hime.

In addition, the Council recapped the year’s highlights including Rally Day, Reflections Ceremony, Parent Summits and Health & Activities Fair while looking forward to next year with the addition of a Clothes Closet.

Congratulations to all the campus PTA members and thank you for all you do on our campuses.


-Pictured are principals and PTA representatives from campuses which received PTA membership awards this year.


Read more CISD news here.